Date Night

Last night was date night.  I love having time with my wife.  Part of the evening was spent at the Lemonade Concert and Arts Fair here in St. Cloud.  I snapped this picture on my iPhone while listening to the orchestra.

IMG_1284_2

An interesting thing happened while I sat there next to my amazing wife, listening to classical music, feeling a cool breeze, observing the sun stretch across the evening sky, seeing leaves move gently on newly green leaves from recent and life-giving rainfall, and watching the people of our community interact and enjoy it all.

Thanksgiving washed over me.

I leaned over to Susan and said, “I am so glad to be here.  I am so grateful that GOD brought us to St. Cloud.”

It hit me in a new way in that moment – I love this place.  I love this community.  As I looked around at countless people I didn’t know, I thought how badly I want them to know Jesus.  I realized that there would be nothing better than to give the next 20, 30, or 40 years to try and reach as many of them as I could with the Good News of Jesus Christ – who came, lived, died, rose, ascended – that they might have countless days of joy in his presence.

There is so much more I need to do to know people who are not yet his people.  Last night was another tiny little step, by God’s grace, in moving my heart toward them, toward their need, and away from my comfort.

Our lives are filled with Amazing Grace.  May theirs be too.  Pray for Calvary Community Church in this mission, and for the St. Cloud Metropolitan area, which is our “near” mission field.

Acts 18.10

…I [GOD] am with you, and no one will attack you to harm you, for I have many in this city who are my people.

One thought on “Date Night

  1. Pastor Matthew,
    This is why we love you and are so thankful for you…your heart for God, God’s people, and the lost.

Leave a Reply

