Forgetting God

This week, and the next six, are really full for me and our family.  By full, I mean the calendar is plump with really good things, but lots of them.  In my weakness, a reaction can be anxiety.  Stress.  Fear.

Susan and I had dinner last night with another couple in ministry.  He is a pastor and preacher, she helps quite a bit in the church.  The calendar is full for them as well.  They have some of the same feelings.

We reflected together on the fact that in such seasons, it can be easy to forget all the ways that God has been so faithful.  Time after time he is there – always helping, always sustaining, providing another word for the sermon, the strength to bear the burden’s of another, the ability to seek him in prayer, the wisdom needed to make the decision.  We can look back and see his fingerprints on everything and his sovereignty over everything.  God never fails.

I want to rest in the goodness, faithfulness, and steadfast love of the LORD.  I long to turn away from idols – those other things I put my trust in, including myself, when the pressure comes.  For, that is what anxiety and fear can produce.  Unbelief.  I turn away from trusting.  I forget God.

But not this morning.  This morning, I remember the steadfast love of the LORD.  I remember his deliverance.  I remember that he is for me, and not against me.

Read Psalm 106.  And watch this video.  And remember the kindness and compassion of the LORD for those who believe.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Psalm 106 on Vimeo“, posted with vodpod

Leave a Reply

