God Is Near

Let me state the obvious this morning – life can have a way of feeling too big, a bit overwhelming at times.  For some of us, depending on our personality, it may feel that way more often than not.

As I have been making my way through the Psalms these days, I am amazed and deeply comforted that these writers allow me to see that I am not alone.  There is something about seeing their experience recorded in the Scriptures that affirms my experience, makes it OK.  And they get specific.  For example, there were times when they too just wanted to run away from it all:

Psa. 55.4 My heart is in anguish within me;
the terrors of death have fallen upon me.
5
Fear and trembling come upon me,
and horror overwhelms me.
6
And I say, “Oh, that I had wings like a dove!
I would fly away and be at rest;
7
yes, I would wander far away;
I would lodge in the wilderness; Selah

But here is what they also show me – instead of running away from their circumstances, they run to God.

We can’t escape our lives, and we can’t always escape our circumstances – even though we badly want to at times (and, I’m not suggesting you can’t take a vacation!).  Many times, God won’t even deliver us from the trial, or maybe just the heaviness of the day to day that can weigh us down occasionally – though we can ask, “O God, save me by your name (Ps. 54:1)”

However, what is always available to us is God himself.  We can always turn to him.  We can always find him.  He will always hear and listen.  That is the testimony of his own Word to us, what I observed time and time again in Psalm 54, 55, and 56 this morning.  Just a sampling of truth to be found:

God will hear.
God is my helper.
God is the upholder of my life.
God will hear my call, my complaint, my voice.
God redeems me.
God gives ear to me.
God will take my burdens (but probably not in my timing).
God will sustain me.
God will never permit me to be moved.
God will be with me in fear.
God’s word will move me to praise.
God will deliver my soul from death.
God will keep my feet from falling.

May you be encouraged this morning.  Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you. (James 4:8)

2 thoughts on “God Is Near

Leave a Reply

