I Waver, He Doesn’t

In a number of ways, God is choosing to remind me of my humanity, my weaknesses, and my sin these days.  I can feel so very weak in the face of weighty responsibilities, that appear great in number.  I sense my humanity, in that I am far more frail than I am strong.  And my sin is revealed in how I respond to my circumstances, and the people in my circumstances.

Maybe you can relate.

It sounds like the Psalmist could.  I read this in Psalm 66 this morning:

10 For you, O God, have tested us;
you have tried us as silver is tried.
11 You brought us into the net;
you laid a crushing burden on our backs;
12 you let men ride over our heads;
we went through fire and through water;

The Psalmist lets it all out, but note what he is saying here.  All the difficulty in his life is from God’s hand: You, O God, have tested us, you have tried us, you brought, you laid, you let.  He is declaring God’s sovereignty over his life in the circumstances of his life.  How does this bring comfort?

Because you know that in his sovereignty, he also does this:

66.8   Bless our God, O peoples;
let the sound of his praise be heard,
9 who has kept our soul among the living
and has not let our feet slip.
12  you have brought us out to a place of abundance.

Do you see?  In all things HE works together for my good.  He is humbling me in exactly the way I need it.  He is revealing idols in my heart.  He is pointing out the sin that runs deep in my heart, hiding, trying not to be found.  He is teaching me not to cherish that sin, so that he will listen when I talk with him (66:18). He will keep my soul, and he will ultimately bring me to a place of abundance.  He is making me more like Jesus, as he takes me through this life to deliver me to Jesus one day.

Even though I don’t know you, I have asked God for me, and for you, the reader, that we would be able to proclaim this with the confidence of the Psalmist today:

Psa. 66.20   Blessed be God,
because he has not rejected my prayer
or removed his steadfast love from me!

One thought on “I Waver, He Doesn’t

Leave a Reply

