A Morning Of Others Saying It Well

I guess it is a morning of good quotes, too tempting not to share.  Thanks to the friends I read for serving me, and you, so well.

From Jonathan Leeman, Ben Franklin on humility:6a00d8341c0c5853ef0120a5532f8b970b-120wi

“My List of Virtues contain’d at first but twelve: but a Quaker Friend having kindly informed me that I was generally thought proud…I added Humility to my list…I cannot boast of much Success in acquiring the Reality of this Virtue; but I had a good deal with regard to the Appearance of it…I even forbid myself…the Use of every Word or Express in the Language that imported a fix’d Opinion; such ascertainly, undoubtedly, &c. and I adopted instead of them, I conceive, apprehend, or I imagine a thing to be so or so, or it so appears to me at present…In reality there is perhaps no one of our natural Passions so hard to subdue as Pride. Disguise it, struggle with it, beat it down, stifle it, mortify it as much as one pleases, it is still alive, and will every now and then peep out and show itself….For even if I could conceive that I had completely overcome it, I should probably be proud of my Humility. ” In Benjamin Franklin,  The Autobiography and Other Writings (New York: Viking Penguin Books, 1984 edition), 102-103.

Jonathan writes:

True humility is not a product of one’s epistemology; it’s not a property firstly of the mind. True humility comes from the Spirit, and is a property firstly of the heart. Whenever a writer appeals to something like post-modernism as the of ground Christian humility, I apprehend, he or she is pointing us to a false humility.

May God fill us with his Spirit, forming us into the image of our humble Savior.

Leave a Reply

