My Identity: Part Of Christ, Part Of His Body

What a day!

I love Sundays.  I love the people who call Calvary home, and I love those who were guests today, thinking that maybe this could be home.

It was an all-boy band this morning, and they did an amazing job – from the modern arrangement of The Doxology that they let rip with a heavy emphasis on guitar and drums, to the great old hymn The Solid Rock, to teaching us a new and cross-centered song entitled The Father’s Love.

Mix in some stout teaching from the Apostle Paul in Galatians 3:1-5, great fellowship at our campus, a wonderful afternoon with three families who graced our home with their fellowship over lots of great food (my wife is amazing!!), a surprise visit in the early evening from a close friend, and now relaxing with the family, and you have pretty much the perfect day.

Why?  Because it was filled with the presence of Jesus, mediated through his Word and His people.  I love the design of God, that he thought it up like this.  We are not meant to live alone, but to live together, in these kinds of relationships, experiencing Jesus as we experience each other.

May we all give ourselves to the truth of the glory of the church:

“By becoming a Christian, I belong to God and I belong to my brothers and sisters. It is not that I belong to God and then make a decision to join a local church. My being in Christ means being in Christ with those others who are in Christ. This is my identity. This is our identity. . . . If the church is the body of Christ, then we should not live as disembodied Christians.”

– Tim Chester and Steve Timmis, Total Church (Wheaton, Ill, Crossway Books, 2008), 41.  (HT: Of First Importance)

Leave a Reply

