I Heard Some Great Advice This Morning…

I often desire advice from older, trusted, Godly men who have been in the ministry far longer than I have, and therefore have wisdom to offer.

This morning I heard from just such a man.  He has planted numerous churches, in many different countries.  He has suffered persecutions and trials in the midst of a very fruitful ministry.  And even in the midst of all his fruitfulness, many of the churches he served had quite a few difficulties, and often needed correction.  So, I can learn from how he dealt with what many of us would look at as failure.  He was not known as a good speaker in his time.  And he also was a pretty rough looking dude, which matched how roughly he could talk to those in his charge when necessary.

Frankly, I’m not sure any American church would hire him to be their pastor/preacher today.

This morning I overheard him give some priceless advice to another young pastor, just like myself.  I pray that God will press it into my heart for the good of our flock and His glory and the advance of the Gospel in this community and beyond.

The aim of our charge is love that issues from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith.

Pastor Paul to Pastor Timothy

Overheard in 1 Timothy 1:5

Leave a Reply

