Surrender and Anxiety

Even though he didn’t know he would be a guest-blogger this morning, here is a post from my friend Joe Stark:

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you. (1 Peter 5:6-7)

To operate in humility is to be in a position of surrender. It is to say, I cannot solve this myself, I cannot exalt myself, I will throw all my eggs into the basket of God’s kindness and justice.

This is why the next verse says to cast all of our anxieties onto the Lord. Surrender means we are not in control, but trials still come. So we throw every worry and concern at his feet and trust him to deal with it.

Leave a Reply

