J.I. Packer’s Advice

James Innell Packer

I am a little behind on my reading of WORLD magazine.  I just reviewed the article they wrote regarding J.I. Packer.

These three pieces of advice reveal Mr. Packer’s enduring wisdom ::

To new husbands ::

My advice to a new husband is nothing more than “husbands, love your wives.” And “love your wife as Christ has loved the church.” Never forget that you are Christ’s representative in serving your wife.

To new pastors (but I think wise for ALL pastors) ::

You have three priorities: teach, teach, and teach. Evangelical churches are weaker than we realize because we don’t teach the confessions and doctrine. Set new standards in teaching. Understand the word catechesis, and practice that art.

To web devotees (and ironic that you read it here on a blog) ::

I’m amazed at the amount of time people spend on the internet. I’m not against technology, but all tools should be used to their best advantage. We should be spending our time on things that have staying power, instead of on the latest thought of the latest blogger—and then moving on quickly to the next blogger. That makes us more superficial, not more thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

