Tell The Devil To Kiss Your Backside

I have been working my way through Galatians at Calvary Community Church, and seeing in new ways the glories of the Gospel, and even more, the glory of Christ.  Many times, Paul contrasts that glory with the law.

I read this quote from Luther this morning on law and gospel.  It is classic, brash, Martin ::

It is the supreme art of the devil that he can make the law out of the gospel. If I can hold on to the distinction between law and gospel, I can say to him any and every time that he should kiss my backside. Even if I sinned I would say, ‘Should I deny the gospeI on this account?’ . . . Once I debate about what I have done and left undone, I am finished. But if I reply on the basis of the gospel, ‘The forgiveness of sins covers it all,’ I have won.”

Martin Luther, quoted in Reinhard Slenczka, “Luther’s Care of Souls for Our Times,” Concordia Theological Quarterly 67 (2003): 42.

(HT: Oversight of Souls)

3 thoughts on “Tell The Devil To Kiss Your Backside

  1. We are under grace, and not subject to the law. However, even Paul in his letter to the Galatians has a stern waning for being careful about what you do:

    “those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God”

    Gal 5:18-24
    “But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law. Now the works of the flesh are evident: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, envy, drunkenness, orgies, and things like these. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God. But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.”

    The point/purpose is not so that we can be in a position to judge or condemn, as it is a way for us to communicate (with grace) a stern warning for others to turn to God; to “repent, believe, and be baptized”, being that we have all been imprisoned under the works of he law!

Leave a Reply

