Where To Turn When In A Satanic Choke-hold?

“If Satan take you by the throat, and by violence draw you before God’s judgment-seat, then call to your husband, Christ, and say, ‘Lord, I suffer violence, make answer for me, and help me.’

And by his help you shall be enabled to plead for yourself, after this manner: O God the Father! I am thy Son Christ’s; thou gavest me unto him. In case any must be condemned for my transgressions, it must needs be Christ, and not I; for albeit I have committed them, yet he hath undertaken and bound himself to answer for them, and that by the consent and good-will of God his Father: and indeed he hath fully satisfied for them.”

—Edward Fisher, The Marrow of Modern Divinity (Ross-shire, UK: Christian Focus, 2009), 174

(HT: Of First Importance)

Leave a Reply

