A Soul-Satisfying Vitamin

I just turned to this week’s Fighter Verse to begin memorizing it.  Doing so caused me to reflect ::

  • I am so grateful for God’s Word.
  • I am thankful for the leadership of Bethlehem Baptist Church (particularly Pastor John) to make Scripture memory such an important value.  Our season of life there marked us with a desire to regularly memorize Scripture.
  • I am excited that we have been using Fighter Verses at Calvary for around two years now.
  • I never cease to be amazed at the timeliness of the passage as it comes each week.  God always uses it in some circumstance in my life that week, even beyond the benefit of just knowing that part of God’s Word.
  • I love that every week God presents an opportunity where Scripture is needed, and I don’t have my Bible in-hand.  Without his Words in my memory, I would be unprepared.  With them there, I have the joy of providing a Word rightly spoken.
  • There is a high nutritional value to Fighter Verses: they are like a powerful vitamin I put under my Spiritual tongue for the week, slowly sucking on it, gaining strength for my soul.

Here is this week’s Fighter Verse, which, for me, is very timely as our Connection Group prepares to begin a study of A Praying Life (by Paul Miller) ::

Phil. 4.6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Phil. 4.8   Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

If you are a reader of this blog and part of Calvary, I encourage you to pick up a packet of Fighter Verses at our resource table.  Or, you can stop by our website, and find it weekly at the bottom of every webpage on our site. Or, you can go to this page for a few of them at a time.

Whatever you do, memorize Scripture.  The rewards are far more than just the few of the reasons I’ve mentioned here.

Psa. 119.103 How sweet your words taste to me;
they are sweeter than honey.
104 Your commandments give me understanding;
no wonder I hate every false way of life.
105 Your word is a lamp to guide my feet
and a light for my path. (NLT-SE)

2 thoughts on “A Soul-Satisfying Vitamin

  1. I love it!!

    Psa. 119.103 How sweet your words taste to me;
    they are sweeter than honey.
    104 Your commandments give me understanding;
    no wonder I hate every false way of life.
    105 Your word is a lamp to guide my feet
    and a light for my path.

    That is an amazing verse. I love you Dad.

Leave a Reply

