Patience and Waiting

This Sunday, Lord willing, I will be preaching a message on “Patience” as part of our current sermon series, Living By The Spirit.  Our main text will be James 5:7-11 ::

James 5.7   Be patient, therefore, brothers, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, being patient about it, until it receives the early and the late rains. 8 You also, be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand. 9 Do not grumble against one another, brothers, so that you may not be judged; behold, the Judge is standing at the door. 10 As an example of suffering and patience, brothers, take the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord. 11 Behold, we consider those blessed who remained steadfast. You have heard of the steadfastness of Job, and you have seen the purpose of the Lord, how the Lord is compassionate and merciful.

I have joked a number of times this week that I’m the last guy that should preach this message, as this is one of my most glaring faults.

What struck me this morning is that it isn’t something that I should be joking about, since it really isn’t funny.  It is sin.  And God does not mean for me, or wish for me, to live a life marked by impatience.

Some of the questions I’ve been asking are:

  • What is patience?
  • What is impatience?
  • Why do we get impatient?
  • What does God say is the antidote to the sickness of impatience in my heart?

I think these are some pretty important questions, with life-altering implications. I am eager for what God will do to bring a harvest of patience in our faith family as a result of hearing his voice in the Scriptures on this topic.  It is my hope that you would be in prayer for me as I prepare, and for your hearts as you come to listen to God’s Word, so that we would all be transformed by God’s Spirit.

One other thing about Sunday.  We will be learning a new song that has to do with waiting on the Lord.  It is called Out of the Depths, and is available on the Psalms CD from Sovereign Grace Ministries.  I’ve pasted the words below.

I look forward to worshiping with you on Sunday!

Verse 1:
Out of the depths, O Lord, I cry to You
When I am tempted to despair
Though I might fail to trust Your promises
You never fail to hear my prayer
And if You judged my sin I’d never stand again
But I see mercy in Your hands

Chorus:
So more than watchmen for the morning
I will wait for You, my God
When my fears come with no warning
In Your Word I’ll put my trust
When the harvest time is over and I still see no fruit
I will wait, I will wait…. for You

Verse 2:
The secret mysteries belong to You
We only know what You reveal
And all my questions that are unresolved
Don’t change the wisdom of Your will
In every trial and loss My hope is in the cross
Where Your compassions never fail

Chorus:
So more than watchmen for the morning
I will wait for You, my God
When my fears come with no warning
In Your Word I’ll put my trust
When the harvest time is over and I still see no fruit
I will wait, I will wait…. for You

Leave a Reply

