I Will

King David Playing The Harp, Peter Paul Rubens, 1616

Just recently, the morning time in the Word has been a little too workmanlike.  It happens every once in awhile for me.  When it does, I most often make my way back to The Psalms to restore vigor and vitality to my communion with God. And, once again this week, God has used the gift of the Psalter to do just that.

In the tradition of C.S. Lewis, I most often wake up as an unbeliever.  Somehow in the night, a hard, cold callous has grown around my heart, and the first task of the day is to break it away.  To warm the heart.  To believe the Gospel afresh.  To embrace new and fresh mercies that are mine in Christ.

This morning I read Psalm 9.  Here’s the first couple of verses ::

I will praise you, LORD, with all my heart.

I will tell of all the marvelous things you have done.

I will be filled with joy because of you.

I will sing praises to your name, O Most High.  (Psalm 9:1-2, NLT-SE)

It seems to me that David is doing what I need to do.  He is making a decision – “I will do this.”  As David reflects on who God is, as he considers the Most High, as he recounts all of the marvelous things that he has done, his response is worship.  Praise, joy, and proclamation centered on the LORD of the universe!

As you begin the day today, may you say with David, “I will…”

And may praise to, joy in, and proclamation of the Most High follow, by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

