Letting Go And Letting God

No, I’m not getting squishy in my Christianity as I grow older.  It’s not what you think.

Over the course of our sermon series at Calvary in Galatians, and now on the Spirit, God has been pressing something into me.  Namely, that I would really, truly, deeply trust him with the progress, fruit, and outcome of my life.  This has the beneficial icing on the proverbial cake of making me a much happier person.

I am still thinking it through with Him, still learning.  And, we’ll talk about it this Sunday in the sermon on “Goodness.”

Here’s a little C.S. Lewis to get you thinking about what I’m struggling to say ::

[Salvation] is the change from being confident in our own efforts to the state in which we despair of doing anything for ourselves and leave it to God.

I know the words ‘leave it to God’ can be misunderstood, but they must stay for the moment.  The sense in which a Christian leaves it to God is that he puts all his trust in Christ:  trusts that Christ will somehow share with him the perfect human obedience which He carried out from His birth to His crucfixion; that Christ will make the man more like Himself, and, in a sense, make good his deficiencies.  In Christian language, He will share his ‘sonship’ with us, will make us, like Himself, ‘Sons of God.’

~ C. S. Lewis, Mere Christianity, (HT: Go At A Walking Pace)

2 thoughts on “Letting Go And Letting God

  1. While “letting go and letting God” may have become a cliched phrase, it is actually for me the primary means by which I must live my Christian life. It is also one of the most difficult things to. Learning to trust God with who I really am and who he says I am in Him is the way I mature. By this I mean that if could just trust that:

    In Christ I am not worthless.

    In Christ I am not hopeless.

    In Christ I am not dumb or ugly or forgotten.

    In Christ I am not naked.

    wow . . . how differently I would live my life. Sometimes I trust, but like you, I wake up feeling like a non-Christian almost every day and it is so easy to listen to the voices of others who tell me that I am not enough. That’s where preaching the gospel to myself on a daily (okay hourly) basis has become so important. It’s also why I feel so adament about wooing the new nature that is in my kids and others in my church. I need to be reminded and reminding others of the change that God has wroght in me as part of my salvation. Then it is easier to “let go and let God” . . . in others words TRUST. But it still isn’t “squishy” (grin).

    • Sister,

      What an excellent, thoughtful, warm, and encouraging post. Please keep reminding me of the change “that God has wrought in me as part of my salvation,” so that I may TRUST. Thank you so much for taking the time to share!

      Your friend and brother on the journey,
      Matthew

Leave a Reply

