Living Consciously

Andree Seu has written another helpful post on anxiety, worry, and living conscious of the Gospel moment by moment. It is filled with thought-provoking and helpful insights. She begins:

God loves me. That is good doctrine, and I subscribe to it. I would affix my signature to a Christian organizations’s statement of faith that has ‘God loves me’ as one of its tenets. I have subscribed for decades, and been a wreck. What is the problem?

The problem is that I have spent very few moments of my life conscious of God loving me. A doctrine not actively believed in is as about as useful as an unplugged lamp. Christianity that is not conscious is a drag: We may get to heaven all right, but it will be a miserable trip.

And this on the worrier:

…in the mind of the chronic worrier a constant background signal, flashing once a second, says ‘I must be in control, I must be in control.’ You might think it is ‘natural,’ but no: The mind under that kind of servitude is a mind that has at some point handed authority to the Enemy to set up shop.

What is the way out? The way forward? Read the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

