Aaron’s Blessing

Every Sunday, I end our service at Calvary with a blessing over God’s people. My reason is found in the command that God gave to Aaron to bless his people. In this way, Aaron would literally put the name of the LORD upon the people of the LORD. I believe that now, as then, these words of blessing are powerful and effectual. It is why I use these particular words more than half the time as we end on Sundays, and more than half the time over our children as I tuck them into bed each night.

Here they are, for you, today:

 The LORD spoke to Moses, saying, “Speak to Aaron and his sons, saying, Thus you shall bless the people of Israel: you shall say to them,

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

“So shall they put my name upon the people of Israel, and I will bless them.”

~ Numbers 6:22-27, ESV

Leave a Reply

