Wonderful Words of Jesus

I was reading Luke 19 and Psalm 119 the other morning and a connection dawned on me.

First, Luke 19:48:

…all the people hung on every word [Jesus] said.

Now, I don’t think that any of us are really surprised at this. Seems like a no-brainer that if Jesus were around and started talking with us, we’d be hanging on every word he said too. But I asked myself the question Why? anyway.

And then came Psalm 119:57-64:

Heth

LORD, you are mine!

I promise to obey your words!

With all my heart I want your blessings.

Be merciful as you promised.

I pondered the direction of my life,

and I turned to follow your laws.

I will hurry, without delay,

to obey your commands.

Evil people try to drag me into sin,

but I am firmly anchored to your instructions.

I rise at midnight to thank you

for your just regulations.

I am a friend to anyone who fears you—

anyone who obeys your commandments.

O LORD, your unfailing love fills the earth;

teach me your decrees.

In the same way that the Psalmist responds to the words of God, the people gathered around Jesus hang on his words because his words are the very words of God.

May we all rejoice, and obey, when the speech of the King fills our ears.

Leave a Reply

